How Writing Has Positively Influenced My Life.

I am participating in the Writing Contest: How Writing Has Positively Influenced My Life. Hosted by Positive Writer. By Angela K. Lacey (500-3,000 words)
Writing has positively influenced my life by allowing me to keep my mind active and focused on upbeat and enjoyable things; all the while I am awaiting my brain surgery.
I live in fear of it each time I think on it, but I need not think on it if I can fill my mind more happily with thoughts of other things. Imaginary things. Fictional things. Romantic relationships, faraway lands to visit, characters from my mind coming out to entertain me. They can be whatever I dream them to be. It doesn’t have to make sense, not to you and not to me. That’s the best part of fiction you see.
Even if you are not the world’s best writer, you don’t need to be, you will improve in every way if you just start writing today. You can learn on the fly, you will learn as you go. You will gain what you need, and revisit what you know. This I can say with some certainty, as these things are all happening to me. Just choose or select a topic to write on, then set out on your voyage and create what you will. If you don’t like it, you can always rewrite it, change it, correct or rearrange it. It is not like real life. You have total control over it. This is why you need not fear it.
Your hero or heroine can do all that you cannot do, be what you want her to, fly if you say she can. Transform herself into a man, changeshift into a plant, scale a mountain with just their hands, fall in love with and marry their dream man, win tons of money and buy Afghanistan, it truly doesn’t have to be realistic at all, they can defy all you know, why not give it a go? You have no idea what you are capable of unless you release your restraints and give in to the love.
Set down to your computer, you word processor, your typewriter, your paper and pen, open up a dialogue between you and a friend. Write what your mother said, what you’ve just done, what you ate for dinner, something mundane. Then from there, other thoughts will come out. Write those down too, and whatever you do, don’t edit a thing, just write like the rain. You can clean up the messes once the rain has subsided. Some clean as they go, and that’s fine, if it doesn’t mess up your flow. Only you know, but if you are on a roll, then roll baby roll. You never know what may come to you when you are on one of those rants where creativity sets in. A poem, a song, a story short or long, just take down the words, and you are on your way. Why not get started today?

Leave a Reply

