Why Not Write About The Love of My Life; Coffee?

Ahhh! Hot coffee, warm and true,

the most welcoming of the morning brews.

No sugar for me, only lots of cream,

pale as my skin, that’s where I begin.

I need thee for your restorative powers,

I need thee for the caffeine in you.

I need thee for that inner warmth.

My idea starter, my inner writer.

Oh coffee, you don’t know what you do,

to someone who is in love with you.

How I long for you when you’re not there,

and into my empty cup do stare.

Some argue your brother decafs’ the kind,

that’s healthier, and better to grind.

I can’t agree, it is not thee;

I can’t agree, but I also love tea.

Leave a Reply

