When The Bell Tolls

When the bell tolls, are we

as touched as we should be?

If the human race is a family

that makes related you and me.

If I am crying at your wake,

are you crying at mine if it comes first?

If present you could not be,

would you be touched at the loss of me?

I know I would at the loss of you.

I would cry my eyes out and not be through.

We should feel a bond between all mankind,

but instead, we kill, maim, and blind.

Are you ever touched by the death of a stranger?

If it is not a relative, do you shed a tear?

Leave a Reply

