They Tell Me…

They tell me that you are no friend

they say, you are beyond a mend

they warn that you will not assist

that I should fight and use my fists

I hear what all they have to say

but my own heart won’t let me go that way

for deep within the core of it

I feel the need to be your friend

for when I lay there all alone,

and none of these were on the phone

there was but you, and you came through

to send you away is the last thing I’ll do.

perhaps a better working compass can be found

but I seem to prefer this one be around

I know it is not always reliable for me

but I will continue to smack it on a tree

and get the use that I can from it

for without a compass, I am lost, I might quit.

Leave a Reply

