The Remaining Ingredient

I sought to follow a recipe

to make what would bring joy to me.

At first I added too much sweetener,

next effort, too many wanted a taste too,

tried expensive store bought, pre-made,

too cookie cutter, too big a name.

Lastly, I sought to find a recipe,

and bake what would be right for me,

the perfect flavor of smart and sweet,

attractive to him and he’s attractive to me.

Although it is too soon to call

I pray that events will be evident to all,

and fill my need for sustenance,

a working relationship for both of us.

 

Leave a Reply

